Steps on Broadway

Last night I had the opportunity to attend tap class with Derick Grant of Steps on Broadway here in NYC.  I haven’t put my taps on in almost three months so it was really good to get back into the rhythm of things.

Check out Derick in this clip from the Third Coast Rhythm Project back in 2005.

I’ve had a lot of opportunities lately to interact with various tap dancers, even having the opportunity to see Terrence tap with one of my favorite bands at Banjo Jims; you can check out his trip to New York in these two posts.

Back to Steps.  It was a beginner class (one step up from a basic) where you should really know your basics.  We began with some various steps facing the front to warm up and practice some really fun rhythms.  Then he had us turn around and listen and repeat the sounds.  I had a very difficult time figuring out what to do to make the various sounds, but it was a great exercise to focus on the listening side of things.

The middle section of the class was a progressing step that we traveled down the floor with.  The first one took me a few tries to get the hang of, but the second one had me stumped almost the entire time.  I need to work on my drags.

We finished the class with a routine.  This was probably the easiest, and I use that term loosely, part of the class for me.  I’m used to jazz routines so I could really focus on trying to get the sounds I wanted and cleaning up each of my steps without worrying too much about where my feet were going.

Having dropped off of the tap wagon for a while, I’m excited to get back to it and work some more on something that is new and challenging for me.

Have you taken classes at Steps or with Derick Grant?  Or what is your latest class experience like?  Leave a comment and let me know.

Published in: on July 15, 2008 at 2:12 pm  Comments (7)  
Tags: , , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://jazzdance.wordpress.com/2008/07/15/steps-on-broadway/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

7 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Wow Carl!

    You beat me to the punch. I haven’t even taken with Derick K. Grant yet and I’m supposed to be the “Tap Dance Man”. LOL!

    I had a really great time with you all at Banjo Jim’s. If I lived in NY I would be there every Monday night!

    Thanks for the links.

    Taps

  2. I love hoofing and have taken a few basic classes at Broadway Dance and other places. I find that it kind of hurts my brain to remember all those combinations, but it can be great for your other dancing because it really teaches you about foot placement, emphasis and rhythm.

  3. Taps,

    Banjo Jims is a truly rocking joint. And definitely take a class with Derick if you get the chance. Great teacher.

    Rik,

    Thanks for chiming in. Yeah, the combinations do occasionally hurt my brain but I think it is a great way to challenge myself.

  4. Carl,

    I linked from Tapdanceman.com. My daughter is a student of Taps. You mentioned that Taps performed at
    Banjo Jims. Do you have a clip?

    We saw Derrick Grant at Tap City this summer. I would love to bring my daughter back to the city and do as many drop in tap classes as possible, including Derrick’s if he works with kids…..

    Is Banjo Jim’s appropriate for children, or is it a more adult atmosphere?

    Taylor’s Mom (and big fan of Taps)

  5. Hi Taylor’s mom 🙂

    Unfortunately there is no footage from the night at Banjo Jims when Taps was there. It was such a spectacular night, it is unfortunate that it wasn’t documented.

    Derrick’s class was really great, however I don’t know if he runs a children’s specific class. I think he may be touring right now cause he isn’t on their class schedule at the moment.

    Banjo Jim’s is unfortunately not an appropriate place for children. It is a small bar in the East Village, although it doesn’t feel like anything but a warm and friendly place it is 21 and over only.

    I hope this was helpful. Let me know if you have anymore questions.

  6. […] Tapping In Last night I commited to two tap classes back to back at Steps on Broadway.  Again I got to work with Derick Grant who I had written about in this post. […]

  7. Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. 🙂 Cheers! Sandra. R.


Leave a Reply

