Tapping In

Last night I commited to two tap classes back to back at Steps on Broadway.  Again I got to work with Derick Grant who I had written about in this post.

I had been away all weekend; flown in midday, dropped my things at home and tossed my taps into my bag and headed back out.

The first class was a basic tap class.  Really for the flat beginner, which I would describe myself as most of the time.  The first five minutes of any tap class I feel like I can’t get my feet to do anything; however, about halfway through the class I felt really in the groove.  By the end I felt like I definitely had my feet in step.

With the basic class to warm-up and get the steps back in my feet, the beginner class progressed quite a bit easier than my first time to the class.  Sequences and steps that I had trouble with a month ago came easily and I could concentrate on the quality of my sounds, the movement of my leg versus just troubling out the rhythm and more.

Thanks to the basic class before hand, the listening section of Derick’s beginner class was easier as I could distinguish between the various sounds a pair of taps can make.  Getting my feet to do them wasn’t always so easy and this is definitely the most challenging part of class for me still.

We finished up with a nice little routine that I enjoyed.  I found that when progressing down the floor, or working the routine, it helped for me to close my eyes occasionally and focus on the sounds and the rhythm that I was trying to make rather than focus on the physical movements.  More like an instrument than a dance.

I can’t wait to go back, although I probably won’t be able to keep up two classes a week because of funds but I am going to try to go half an hour early to warm-up on my own.

Published in: on September 16, 2008 at 6:36 pm  Comments (2)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://jazzdance.wordpress.com/2008/09/16/tapping-in/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I want to take the tap class here at RPI but it is during the same time as swing.

  2. […] have added a tap class to my weekly schedule on Mondays at Steps alongside practicing tap with Maggie twice a week.  I am commiting more time and energy into my […]


Leave a Reply

